Kamptal

Langenlois, the “capital“ of the Kamptal, lies as if it’s position here was determined specifically because of wine: to the north is the Waldviertel, from which the cool evening air comes; and to the south, the Kamp river opens to the Danube river –  underscoring the area’s ideal location for sunshine and Pannonian mildness. All in all, this means a hot days-cool nights climate, which is so typical for the Kamptal and optimal for the aromas and flavours of the grapes.

The geology here is equally rich in contrasts – in the north, the roots of the vines push their way through the gneiss and mica schist of the Bohemian mass and the sandstone so prevalent at the Heiligenstein, while in the south, they embrace the layers of loess, often several metres thick. We are pleased and grateful to have vineyards in the Kamptal’s top vineyard sites, including the Loiserberg, Käferberg, Steinmassl, Seeberg, Heiligenstein and Berg Vogelsang – and that we, through our wines, contribute to the international reputation of the Kamptal as a region of origin for outstanding white wines.


Our 6 “Erste Lagen” in the Kamptal:

Steinmassl

This site is located on a ridge extending from the south-southwest at 340 metres above sea level, to 240 metres in the north-northwest with a broad shoulder exposed toward the southwest. Paragneiss and mica schist along with dark amphibolites and light granite gneiss form the crystalline bedrock. As a result of Intense weathering, there are brown earth soils with varying levels of thickness – in some areas, up to one metre – that  are interspersed with stones and, despite the silicate source material, can be somewhat calcareous.

Heiligenstein

A south and southwest-facing terraced slope with a special geological extrusion, which has been preserved by the earth’s history. The solid rocks that rise to thesurface consist of feldspar-rich, reddish-brown sandstone and coarse conglomerates; there is random siltstone as well. The sediments were formed around 250 to 280 million years ago in lakes, ponds and periodically active rivers under a desert climate. Remains of fossilised plants and gravels of volcanic quartz porphyry can be found in the rocks. Some loess is preserved in sporadic shallow spots.

Käferberg

A warm, wind-protected site between 310 and 345 metres above sea level with a south-southeastern exposure and a diverse range of soils covering the bedrock. In a confined area, there can be older crystalline rocks such as amphibolite, gneiss and mica schist alternating with much younger clay marl, sand and rare gravels that had been deposited in the ancient Paratethys sea some 16 million years ago.

Seeberg

A south-southwest oriented vineyard at an altitude of about 300 metres above sea level. The silvery, glittering mica schist with intercalations of amphibolite reach up to the surface. This is overlain by weathered silty, sandy brown earth soils, mostly non-calcareous.

Loiserberg

A mountainesque vineyard rising up to 380 metres. Windy and with temperature extremes. Apart from the loess layers, which become thicker towards the southeast, and the occasional marble outcrop, there are mainly non-calcareous brown earth soils covering siliceous crystalline rocks such as paragneiss, mica schist and amphibolite.

Berg Vogelsang

Embedded in Loiserberg, Berg Vogelsang is one of the most barren and coolest vineyards of Weingut Loimer. Barren because of so little topsoil; cool because the forests to the north are so close by. The soil of this southwest-facing vineyard consists of Gföhler gneiss with mica schist.

  • Steinmassl Riesling 2013 Kamptal DAC Reserve
    39,00181,00
  • Ried Heiligenstein Riesling 2017, Kamptal DAC
    50,00219,00

Kamptal

Langenlois, die „Hauptstadt des Kamptales“, liegt so, als hätte man sie wegen des Weines hierher positioniert: Das Waldviertel im Norden schickt die kühle Luft, vom Süden, wo sich der Kamp zur Donau hin öffnet, erhält Langenlois Sonne und pannonische Milde. In Summe ergibt das jenes „heiße Tage/kühle Nächte-Klima“, das so typisch Kamptal und so hervorragend für die Armoaausprägung der Trauben ist.

Ebenso kontrastreich ist die Geologie, die hier vorherrscht: Im Norden suchen die Wurzeln der Rebstöcke ihren Weg durch Gneis und Glimmerschiefer der böhmischen Masse, am Heiligenstein herrscht Sandstein vor, im Süden türmen sich oft meterdicke Lössschichten. Wir freuen uns, dass wir über Weingärten in Kamptaler Toplagen wie Loiserberg, Käferberg, Steinmassl, Seeberg, Heiligenstein oder Berg Vogelsang verfügen und dass wir mit unseren Weinen zum internationalen Ruf des Kamptales als Herkunftsregion hervorragender Weißweine beitragen dürfen.


Unsere 6 Rieden im Kamptal:

Steinmassl

Der Rücken zieht von 340 m Seehöhe gegen Süd-Südost bis auf 240 m Seehöhe und zeigt eine breite Schulter gegen Südwesten. Paragneise und Glimmerschiefer neben dunklen Amphiboliten und hellen Granitgneisen bilden das durchwegs kristalline Ausgangsgestein. Relativ starke Verwitterung sorgt für unterschiedlich dicke, in machen Geländepositionen bis zu 1 m starke Felsbraunerde-Böden, die mit vielen Steinen durchsetzt sind und trotz silikatischem Ausgangsmaterial mitunter etwas Kalkgehalt zeigen.

Heiligenstein

Nach Süden und Südwesten ausgerichtete terrassierte Hanglage mit einem besonderen geologischen Aufbau, der sich durch die Geschicke der Erdgeschichte gerade hier erhalten hat. Die bis an die Oberfläche tretenden Festgesteine bestehen aus feldspatreichen, rotbraunen Sandsteinen und groben Konglomeraten, seltener sind Schluffsteine anzutreffen. Die Ablagerung der etwa 250 bis 280 Millionen Jahre alten Sedimente erfolgte in Seen, Tümpeln und periodisch aktiven Flussläufen unter Wüstenklima. In dem Gesteinspaket lassen sich Reste versteinerter Pflanzen und Gerölle vulkanischer Quarzporphyre finden. Nur stellenweise und in wenigen leichten Talkerben ist etwas Löss erhalten.

Käferberg

Warme, windgeschützte Lage zwischen 310 und 345 m Seehöhe mit südlicher und südöstlicher Exposition und unterschiedlichen Böden auf vielfältigem Gesteinsuntergrund. Auf engem Raum wechseln alte, kristalline Gesteine, wie Amphibolite, Gneise und Glimmerschiefer, mit viel jüngeren Tonmergel, Sanden und seltenen Kiesen, die im Meer der Paratethys vor etwa 16 Millionen Jahren abgelagert wurden.

Seeberg

Nach Süd und Südwest ausgerichtete Lage auf etwa 300 m Seehöhe. Bis an die Oberfläche reichen hier die silbrig glitzernden Glimmerschiefer mit Einschaltungen von Amphibolit. Darauf entwickeln sich schluffig-sandige Verwitterungsböden, meist kalkfreie Felsbraunerden.

Loiserberg

Bergweingärten bis zu 380 m Seehöhe hinauf, windig und mit Temperaturextremen. Abgesehen von den Lössauflagen, die gegen Südosten stärker werden, und den stellenweisen Marmorlinsen bilden sich vorwiegend kalkfreie Felsbraunerden über silikatischen kristallinen Gesteinen wie Paragneis, Glimmerschiefer und Amphibolit, die engräumig wechseln.

Berg Vogelsang

Eingebettet in den Loiserberg zählt Berg Vogelsang zu den kargsten und kühlsten Lagen im Weingut Loimer. Karg, weil mit geringer Bodenauflage versehen, kühl, da der waldreiche Norden in Sichtweite liegt. Der Boden dieser Südwest-Lage besteht aus Gföhler Gneis mit Glimmerschiefer.

  • Steinmassl Riesling 2013 Kamptal DAC Reserve
    39,00181,00
  • Ried Heiligenstein Riesling 2017, Kamptal DAC
    50,00219,00